Salt Lake Community College Facts

Salt Lake Community College (SLCC) is Utah’s largest college with the most diverse student body.[2] It serves more than 60,000 students on 10 campuses as well as through online classes.[3] The college has a student to faculty ratio of 20:1.[4] Since SLCC is a community college, it focuses on providing associate degrees that students can transfer to any other four-year university in the state to satisfy their first two years of requirements for a bachelor’s degree. SLCC has open enrollment and serves the local community, with approximately 95% of the student body considered Utah residents.

Although the college does not offer four-year degrees directly, school officials work with the state’s other institutions of higher learning to create partnerships between different schools and ensure that credits are transferable. Salt Lake Community College has partnered with selected four-year institutions to provide opportunities for students to complete a bachelor’s degree while remaining on one of SLCC campuses. General education credits may be transferred to any four-year school in Utah including the University of Utah, Utah State University, Utah Valley University as well asprivate schools such as Brigham Young University and Westminster College.

Current SLCC logo
Motto Step Ahead
Type Community college
Established 1948
President Deneece Huftalin (2014)
Academic staff
346 full-time faculty
Students 30,112 (2012-13 year)[1]
Location Salt Lake County,
, United States
40°40′20″N 111°56′40″WCoordinates: 40°40′20″N 111°56′40″W
Campus Urban
Colors Royal Blue and Gold
Mascot Brutus the Bruin Bear
Affiliations NJCAA

Our partner sites house valuable information on a range of topics. Please visit and click on one of our advertisements!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *